Bismarck (Gov Burgum’s Office) North Dakota Governor, Doug Burgum Wednesday signed legislation that will provide $250 million to help cities, counties and townships in non-oil producing counties pay for infrastructure needs, urging local leaders to invest the dollars in existing infrastructure areas to limit the growth of property taxes and create healthy, vibrant communities.

Legislative leaders, bill sponsors and stakeholders joined Burgum for the signing of

House Bill 1066. The bipartisan bill passed with broad support, 80-12 in the House

and 46-0 in the Senate.

The bill changes the distribution of oil and gas tax revenues, creating new

buckets to set aside revenue for counties, cities and townships in non-oil

producing areas. Starting in the 2021-23 biennium, the bill will direct $115 million

to cities, $115 to counties and townships, and $20 million for an airport

infrastructure fund.

One of the pillars of our Main Street Initiative is smart, efficient

infrastructure, and we know communities across North Dakota have significant

infrastructure needs. We also support local control, and this bill gives communities

enormous latitude to use this bounty of oil tax revenues. If used wisely, these

grant dollars represent a golden opportunity to improve the economics of cities,

limit the growth of property taxes and create healthy, vibrant communities,

enhancing the quality of life for all North Dakotans, Burgum said.

The law requires that grant dollars be used for essential infrastructure projects,

including water and wastewater treatment plants; sewer and water lines, including

lift stations and pumping systems; water storage systems, including dams, water

tanks and water towers; storm water infrastructure, including curb and gutter; road

and bridge infrastructure; electricity and natural gas transmission infrastructure;

airport infrastructure; and communications infrastructure.


In addition to allocating oil tax revenues to non-oil producing areas, the law also

preserves allocations for oil-producing areas and removes the sunset on the hub

city designation that directs additional oil tax revenue to Dickinson, Minot and Williston.