Bismarck  (NDHP)  Trooper Brian Mehlhoff was named the 2018 Trooper of the Year at the North Dakota Motor Carrier Association’s (NDMCA) banquet held Thursday, May 16, in Bismarck. Mehlhoff serves the SW region as a Traffic Enforcement Trooper and is stationed in Bismarck. He has been a trooper since 2007 and serves on the Crash Reconstruction Team.
NDMCA’s Trooper of the Year award reflects the trucking industry’s appreciation for enhancing safety for those who depend on the highway for their livelihood.

In his nomination letter, it was noted Mehlhoff’s positive attitude and outlook are reflected in his work ethic and dedication to serving the citizens of North Dakota. Trooper Mehlhoff was further described as making “an impressionable impact on the safety of the public”.

Other nominees for the award were Trooper Mike Hinrichs, Motor Carrier Operations; Trooper Jed Dahnke, SE Region; Trooper Chris Schaefer, Motor Carrier Operations; Trooper Brian Larson, NW Region; and Trooper Brett Mlynar, NE Region.