Bismarck  (CSi) . Doug Burgum Monday appointed North Dakota Parks and Recreation Director Andrea Travnicek to lead the state’s Department of Water Resources, subject to approval by a majority of the members of the State Water Commission on Friday, July 30. The governor also appointed eight members to the State Water Commission with broad experience in water supply, flood protection, engineering and other water issues.

As a result of House Bill 1353 passed during the 2021 legislative session, on Aug. 1 the Department of Water Resources will be the primary state water agency, replacing the State Water Commission.

The governor appointed four new members and reappointed four current members to the State Water Commission.

New members appointed to the Commission are:

James Odermann, a Belfield rancher, who will represent the Little Missouri, Upper Heart and Upper Cannonball river basins.

Connie Ova, CEO of the Jamestown/Stutsman Development Corp., who will represent the James River Basin.

April Walker, consulting firm owner and former Fargo city engineer, who will represent the Upper Red River Basin.

Gene Veeder, a McKenzie County rancher and board member for the McKenzie County Job Development Authority, who will represent the Upper Missouri River Basin.

The governor also reappointed the following commissioners:

Michael Anderson of Hillsboro, who represents the Lower Red River Basin.

Richard “Dick” Johnson of Devils Lake, who represents the Devils Lake Basin.

Jay Volk of Bismarck, who represents the Lower Missouri River Basin.

Burgum also expressed his gratitude for outgoing commissioners Katie Hemmer of Jamestown, Mark Owan of Williston, Matthew Pedersen of Valley City and Steven Schneider of Dickinson for their service to the Commission and the state of North Dakota.